german english

The Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum Founded in 1962, the Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) was the first new university founded in the Federal Republic of Germany after the end of World War II. Located in the Ruhr region, Europe's largest single economic zone, it is Germany's eighth largest university. Today, more than forty years after the RUB was established, more than half the population of what was once Europe's "coal pot", dominated by mining and steelworks, is employed in the service sector. The university is very much a part of this structural change. With close to 35,000 students, some 6700 employees and 433 professors, RUB is proud of its pioneering role in many fields. For more information: www.rub.de

Centrig - Centre for Interdisciplinary Health Research

Maintaining quality of life - despite scarce resources

Health is a valuable asset - and an expensive one. All the more alarming therefore are the findings of current studies into our healthcare system: the shortages of some services and the inefficient distribution of others are eating up billions in unnecessary costs. Individually tailored prevention measures and optimization of diagnostic and therapeutic services could allow scarce resources to be more efficiently utilized and fairly distributed for the benefit of patients. This is our only hope of guaranteeing that high-quality health care will continue to be available to all.

Bringing people together

Anyone seeking to reform the health system must first identify the causes underlying the shortages of some services and the inefficient distribution of others. In order to study the scope, structure, target groups, costs and benefits of health services, scientists and academics from many different disciplines need to work together: for example medical researchers studying curative aspects, sociologists and economists looking at economic forces, and sports scientists and psychologists advising on prevention and chronic illness. The idea of Centrig, a centre for interdisciplinary health research, is born.
Contact   Imprint   Home

german english

Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum Mit ihrem Gründungsjahr 1962 ist die Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) die erste Universitätsneugründung der BRD. Im Ruhrgebiet, der größten Wirtschaftsregion Europas gelegen, ist sie die achtgrößte Universität Deutschlands. Heute, fast vierzig Jahre nach Gründung der RUB ist über die Hälfte der Bevölkerung des ehemaligen "Kohlenpotts" in Dienstleistungsberufen tätig, die Universität auch in der gewandelten Struktur fest eingebunden. Momentan sind in Bochum knapp 35000 Studenten eingeschrieben, hinzu kommen rund 6700 Mitarbeiter und 433 Professoren.
Weitere Informationen: www.rub.de

Centrig - Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Gesundheitsforschung

Lebensqualität sichern - trotz knapper Mittel

Gesundheit ist wertvoll - und teuer. Umso alarmierender sind die Ergebnisse aktueller Versorgungsforschung: Unter- und Fehlversorgung verschlingen Milliardenbeträge. Mit individuell abgestimmten Präventionsmaßnahmen sowie optimaler diagnostischer und therapeutischer Versorgung könnten zum Wohle der Patienten knappe Ressourcen effizienter eingesetzt und fair verteilt werden: unsere einzige Chance, Gesundheitsversorgung für die breite Bevölkerung auf hohem Niveau sicherzustellen.

Ein Gedanke, der verbindet

Wer das Gesundheitssystem reformieren möchte, muss zunächst die Ursachen für Unter- und Fehlversorgung klären. Um Umfang, Struktur, Zielgruppen, Kosten und Nutzen von Gesundheitsleistungen zu untersuchen, braucht man Wissenschaftler unterschiedlichster Disziplinen: zum Beispiel Mediziner, die kurative Aspekte erforschen, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaftler, die ökonomisches Denken einbringen sowie Sportwissenschaftler und Psychologen als Experten für Prävention und chronische Krankheiten. Die Idee des Centrig, eines Zentrums für interdisziplinäre Gesundheitsforschung, ist geboren.
Kontakt   Impressum   Home